Governor Nominates Carlene Pacheco of the FPSN for National Recognition

Governor Steve Sisolak today announced his selection of two nominees to represent Nevada in the national selection process for the Recognizing Inspirational School Employees (RISE) Award, including Carlene Pacheco.
Pacheco, a citizen of the Fallon Paiute-Shoshone Nation, and Ronald McCullough were chosen by the Governor to represent Nevada based on their dedication to Nevada’s students and school communities.
“Carlene Pacheco and Ronald McCullough are invaluable assets to their school communities,” said Governor Steve Sisolak. “Both of these exemplary school employees have dedicated their lives to supporting their schools and demonstrate their unwavering commitment to our students daily. I am pleased to recognize these well-deserving school employees and express my gratitude for their tireless work.”
The RISE Award, initiated by the U.S. Congress in 2019 and overseen by the U.S. Department of Education (USED), honors classified school employees who provide exemplary service. Each state is invited to nominate up to two outstanding employees for selection of a national honoree by the U.S. Department of Education.
“I am honored to be recognized for my passion and dedication to Indian Education in the Churchill County School District,” Pacheco said. “I am thankful for the opportunity to serve my community.”
Pacheco is a paraprofessional and Title 6 Liaison at Churchill County High in Churchill County School District.
A member of the Indian Education Advisory Committee, Pacheco is known for going above and beyond her job description.
She is an advisor and counselor for Native American students and families in her district.
Along with all her other work, she offers one-on-one tutoring, classroom support, and after-school tutoring. She has increased graduation rates among the students on her caseload.
She is in her 10th year serving the Native learners in the Churchill County School District.
A graduate of Churchill County High, Pacheco earned an Associate of Arts from Truckee Meadows Community College before transferring to the University of Nevada where she graduated with a Bachelor of Science.
Pacheco is a first generation college graduate.
“I’m thankful we have devoted, caring and hard-working Nevadans like Pacheco and McCullough and our other RISE finalists who dedicate themselves to our students and improving our schools,” said Jhone Ebert, State Superintendent of Public Instruction. “I thank Governor Sisolak for selecting these two outstanding finalists, and I am proud to have them represent Nevada on the national stage.”
Governor Sisolak chose Nevada’s nominees from a pool of five finalists selected by the Nevada Department of Education. The selection process was anonymous, with all identifying information redacted so determinations could be made on the merit of the nomination.
The three other finalists include Shiree Carter, Patricia Dack and Aurelia Shamblin.
• Carter is the lunchroom manager at Edith W. Fritsch Elementary in Carson City School District.
• Dack is the school secretary at Pinon Hills Elementary School in Douglas County School District.
• Shamblin is a paraprofessional at Wells Combined School in Elko County School District.
This is the third annual Nevada RISE Award selection. The two 2022 RISE Award recipients were Arthur Dahlstrom from Fernley High, Lyon County School District; and Heather Staunton-Williams at Dayton High, Lyon County School District.
The RISE Award recipient will be announced by the U.S. Department of Education in spring 2023